The RCT management board

The RCT is administered by the RCT management board. This includes:

  • the registrar
  • the assistant registrar
  • two named representatives of each professional organisation participating in the management of the RCT: the Association of Renal Technologists (ART), the Institute of Healthcare Engineering and Estate Management (IHEEM) and the Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine (IPEM)
  • two representatives elected from the RCT registrant body
  • two lay members

The board is responsible for all aspects of the management of the register including overseeing the assessing and approving of applications to join the RCT. It is also responsible for reviewing and updating the criteria for membership of the RCT as well as all processes and documentation used. It is supported by an administrative team from the IPEM office.

The board actively promotes the RCT to government, the Department of Health, government agencies, the Health and Care Professions Council, other professional bodies, educational establishments and the medical device industry.

Management Board Terms of Reference

Iain Threlkeld – Registrar

Iain is the head of clinical engineering at Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and has many years experience working both within the NHS and the private healthcare industry.  As a fellow of IHEEM he has previously sat on the RCT Management Board as one of their representatives but has held the position of registrar since September 2016. Iain is registered with the RCT as a clinical technologist and also with the Engineering Council as a chartered engineer (CEng).

Paul Blackett – Assistant Registrar

Paul is a former medical engineering operations manager at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals which includes two acute hospital sites at Chorley and Preston. Semi-retired, Paul is now the Facilitator of the NPAG North and South Clinical Engineering Groups and is an active member of IPEM. Paul has worked both in industry and the NHS and has been a member of the Clinical Engineering Special Interest Group and an external moderator for the IPEM technologist training scheme. He has also been part of the DH working party on Modernising Scientific Careers and a member of the NW HCS Workforce Board.

Peter JonesPeter Jones – ART named representative

Peter is an ART representative for the RCT. He is the technical services manager, renal department at St James’ University Hospital, Leeds.

Kevin Gibbs – ART named representative 

Kevin has worked at Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust for over 15 years, 13 of those years as the Lead Renal Technologist for the Renal Services Departments both Adult and Paediatrics.


Shaun Lundy – IHEEM named representative

Shaun Lundy is clinical engineering team leader at County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust. He is a member of IHEEM and registered with the RCT. He is also registered with the Engineering Council as an engineering technician (EngTech).

Paula Todd – IPEM named representative

Paula is a chief clinical technologist at the Royal Victoria Hospital in Belfast and manages the nuclear medicine service over two sites.  Paula is registered with the RCT as a clinical technologist, with the Science Council as a registered scientist (RSci) and is also a full member of IPEM.

Lizzy Crawford – elected representative

Lizzy was elected to join the RCT Management Board in November 2015 and is passionate about raising the profile of technologists and showcasing their work.  Lizzy is a specialist technologist within the radiological physics department of Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust and is keen to see entry routes into all technologist professions clarified so that new starters can identify a clear career path and, ultimately, work towards registration as a respected and recognised member of the healthcare science community.

Carolina Rodrigues – elected representative

Carolina is a nuclear medicine technologist at Gartnavel General Hospital (Nuclear Medicine Department and West of Scotland PET/CT Centre). Carolina is registered as a Nuclear Medicine Diagnostic and Therapeutic Technician with the Portuguese Central Administration of the Health System (ACSS), as a clinical technologist with the RCT and is also Full member of IPEM. She is an active member of RCT and IPEM, currently working as an assessor for the RCT and external moderator for the IPEM Technologist Training Scheme.

Rosemary Anderton – lay member

Rosemary sits on the IPEM Public Engagement Panel and is a lay member of the RCT Management Board. Rosemary is a secondary science and psychology teacher. She was a member of York NHS Research Ethics Committee for five years and has a MA in Health Care Ethics.


                              Lay member – awaiting update

                                IHEEM named representative – awaiting update
                                IPEM named representative – awaiting update


RCT administration team

                               Steve Mattin – RCT manager – awaiting update
                               RCT administrator – awaiting update
© The Register of Clinical Technologists